Some Work-in-Progress

I’m just over halfway through a 3 week typography project, and things are starting to come together. So far I’ve only shown some finished pieces, so I thought it would be good to show something that I’m working on at the moment.

The aim was to gain inspiration from Peckham High St, and produce a typeface from what I find. I was intrigued by the Asian signage dotted around the shops, and wondered if I could turn that into English. Some of you might think it’s a lame idea to go on, but I had so much fun mimicking the distinct shapes to produce this!

Each ‘square’ is the letters formed to produce one word, these 9 words form a sentence if read from left to right. The letters are obviously styled different, but you might be able to pick some up and end up working out the sentence! Try figuring it out now – I’ll let you know what it says lower down the page!

*HINT – The sentence is a well known pangram.

I have a few other ideas on the go at the moment incase this one flops, but I’m happy with it for now. There’s still plenty of time for it to all change for the final piece!

I made a new origami kusudama yesterday, and I reckon it’s my favourite I’ve made so far (so prepare yourselves) – once I’ve got a picture of it I’ll post it up for all to see.

Oh, and the sentence reads ‘The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog’. Did you guess it? :^] Now you know it, take another look at the picture – you can start to see the words form from what used to be just a pile of random strokes !

<|:^]

Leave a Reply

