Work-in-Progress [At Last!]

I said I’d be putting up some work halfway through this project, so here it is! I had hoped to put some work out a little earlier, but it’s been hard to come up with something I’m content with. I had better explain this before you loose interest:

This is still a continuation of my ‘dugout’ canoe object, but I’ve steered towards the material aspect of it. I found out so many interesting facts about the wood my object is made from (Kapok tree) and I felt it would be a waste to disregard this! I’ve looked into what the Kapok tree is in relation to mythology and beliefs from various cultures. There’s a handful of tall tales that would work out great for the 3rd brief (to create a book/narrative in relation to the object). I did a bit of research and found a good use of squared shapes alongside curved edges in some Native American art, so it would only be right to follow tradition.

I’m not a massive fan of working in an illustrative way, and I really doubt my drawing capabilities (you will see no fine detailed drawings here I’m afraid!) But I had a lot of fun coming up with this. I used a full black marker pen outline filled with some pencil blending to get to this. As far as I can think at the moment, this is how I’d like my final outcomes to be produced, entirely from hand – no computers!

I have so much to do, but I’m hoping if I get a move on I’ll be able to finish up here and revisit some past work to develop that some more! I have (my last :’^\) workshop tomorrow – screen printing! I’m hoping to produce this design as the outcome, but we’ll see what happens. I’ll try and get the outcome posted up at least by the start of next week.

Have a great weekend,

<|:^]

Leave a Reply

